A Boating Playlist

Looking for a boating playlist to put together the next time you hit the water?  Look no further! Here are some sea-worthy songs written with the serious boater (and vacationer) in mind!

Bobby Darin – Beyond the Sea

Notable lyrics:  “Somewhere beyond the sea, / Somewhere, waiting for me, /  My lover stands on golden sands / And watches the ships that go sailing /”

Enya – Orinoco Flow

Notable lyrics: sail away… / from the North to the South, Ebudæ into Khartoum / from the deep sea of Clouds to the island of the moon / carry me on the waves to the lands I’ve never been / carry me on the waves to the lands I’ve never seen.”

Beach Boys – Kokomo

Notable lyrics: “Jamaica, off the Florida Keys / There’s a place called Kokomo / That’s where you wanna go to get away from it all.”

Duran Duran – Rio

Notable lyrics: “Her name is Rio and she dances on the sand / Just like that river twisting through a dusty land / And when she shines she really shows you all she can / Oh Rio Rio dance across the Rio Grande.”

Otis Redding – Dock of the Bay

Notable lyrics: “Sittin’ in the mornin’ sun / I’ll be sittin’ when the evenin’ come /
Watching the ships roll in / And then I watch ’em roll away again, yeah / I’m sittin’ on the dock of the bay / Watching the tide roll away.”

Styx – Come Sail Away

Notable lyrics: Set an open course for the Virgin Sea / ‘Cause I’ve got to be free / Free to face the life that’s ahead of me.”

Billie Holiday – A Sailboat in the Moonlight

Notable lyrics: “Some things dear that I long for are few / just give me a sail boat and moonlight and you.”

Madonna – Holiday

Notable lyrics: “If we took a holiday / Took some time to celebrate / Just one day out of life / It would be, it would be so nice.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

